Organizing Committee Chairs

Marc Mendelson PhD FRCP DTM&H
Conference Chairman

President, Federation of Infectious Diseases Societies of Southern Africa
Principal Specialist and Head
Division of Infectious Diseases & HIV Medicine
Groote Schuur Hospital
University of Cape Town
Cape Town, South Africa

John Watson
Organizing Committee Deputy Chair

Chair, International Society for Influenza and Other Respiratory Virus Diseases (isirv)
Respiratory Diseases Department
Health Protection Agency
London, United Kingdom

Neil Cameron
Organizing Committee Co-Chair

Division of Community Health
Department of Interdisciplinary Health Sciences
Faculty of Health Sciences
Stellenbosch University
Stellenbosch, South Africa


Organizing Committee

William Ampofo
National Influenza Laboratory
Virology Department; Noguchi Memorial Institute for Medical Research (NMIMR)
University of Ghana, Legon
Accra, Ghana

Lucille Blumberg
Associate Professor
Deputy Director of the National Institute for Communicable Diseases of the National Health Laboratory Services
Johannesburg, South Africa

Rick Bright
Acting Deputy Director, Influenza Division
Acting Chief, Antivirals Advanced Development
Director, International Program
Washington, DC, USA

Sylvie Briand
Pandemic and Epidemic Disease Department (PED)
Health Security and Environment (HSE)
World Health Organization
Geneva, Switzerland

Lorena Brown
Associate Professor
Department of Microbiology
University of Melbourne
Parkville, Australia

Ilaria Capua
Head of Virology Department
OIE/FAO Reference Laboratory for Newcastle Disease and Avian Influenza
Instituto Zooprofilattico Sperimetale Delle Venezie
Legnaro, Padova, Italy

Cheryl Cohen
Epidemiology and Surveillance Unit, National Institute for Communicable Diseases
Gauteng, South Africa

Nancy Cox
Director, Influenza Division
Director, WHO Collaborating Center for Surveillance Epidemiology and Control of Influenza
Coordinating Center for Infectious Diseases
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Brad Gessner
Scientific Director
Agence de Médecine Préventive
Paris, France

Alan Hampson
Editor in Chief
Influenza Journal, Interflu Pty Ltd
Chairman, Influenza Specialist Group
Victoria, Australia

Lance Jennings
Clinical Associate Professor
Virology & Serology Department
Microbiology Health Laboratories
Canterbury Health Laboratories
Christchurch, New Zealand

Peter Palese
Horace W. Goldsmith Professor and Chair
Department of Microbiology
Professor, Department of Medicine
Mount Sinai School of Medicine
New York, NY, USA

Gavin Smith
Associate Professor
Program in Emerging Infectious Diseases
Duke-NUS Graduate Medical School

John Wood
National Institute for Biological Standards and Control (retired)
Potters Bar, United Kingdom